Time does not bring relief

Time does not bring relief; you all have lied
Who told me time would ease me of my pain!
I miss him in the weeping of the rain;
I want him at the shrinking of the tide;
The old snows melt from every mountain-side,
And last year’s leaves are smoke in every lane;
But last year’s bitter loving must remain
Heaped on my heart, and my old thoughts abide!
There are a hundred places where I fear
To go,–so with his memory they brim!
And entering with relief some quiet place
Where never fell his foot or shone his face
I say, “There is no memory of him here!”
And so stand stricken, so remembering him!

– Edna St Vincent Millay

7 thoughts on “Time does not bring relief

  1. Michelle Post author

    Dale, these were the lines that ran through my head this morning when my mother telephoned to tell me my father had been admitted to hospital by ambulance again this morning. The fifth time this month.

    The context of the sonnet is different, but I feel the lines:

    Time does not bring relief; you all have lied
    Who told me time would ease me of my pain!

  2. dale

    Oh, I’m sorry, Michelle. Hugs.

    On the other hand, what Shelley said is true too:

    Many a green isle needs must be
    In the deep wide sea of misery.

  3. Middle Ditch

    This is a beautiful verse Michelle. It goes deep into the soul. And I’m no expert.

    Sorry to read about your father, I hope he will be okay. In any sense I hope that you have a very creative 2009. LOL

Leave a Reply

