Roger Housden

“Great poetry can alter the way we see ourselves.  It can change the way we see the world.  You may never have read a poem in your life, and yet you can pick up a volume, open it to any page, and suddenly see your own original face there; suddenly find yourself blown into a world full of awe, dread, wonder, marvel, deep sorrow, and joy.  Poetry at its best calls forth our deep Being, bids us live by its promptings; it dares us to break free from the safe strategies of the cautious mind; it calls to us, like the wild geese, from an open sky.”

– Roger Housden

4 thoughts on “Roger Housden

  1. Susan Richardson

    Wild geese calling from an open sky – I want to carry that sound with me all through today🙂

  2. Michelle Post author

    Susan, I’ve discovered Roger Housden writes simply and beautiful about poetry. He’s articulate and accessible.

  3. Rachelle Benveniste

    One day I just happened to notice a blue book: 10 poems to change your life. I did not of Roger Housden then, now I have all of his books and share the poems and his luminous essays with my students. I am a widely published poet and writer, and creative writing instructor through Santa Monica college commiunity services. Roger Housden , in many ways, has saved my spiritual life. The depth, the ecstacy of poetry lives in the center of his hand. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

