Annie Dillard

“I am a frayed and nibbled survivor in a fallen world, and I am getting along.  I am aging and eaten and have done my share of eating too.  I am not washed and beautiful, in control of a shining world in which everything fits, but instead am wandering awed about on a splintered wreck I’ve come to care for, whose gnawed trees breathe a delicate air, whose bloodied and scarred creatures are my dearest companions, and whose beauty bats and shines not in its imperfections but overwhelmingly in spite of them …”

– Annie Dillard

7 thoughts on “Annie Dillard

  1. Dana

    It’s quotes like this that make think: “Oh, I see. Others have this whole beautiful-and-moving writing thing down. I can step away from my pen and paper now and give up my silly notions about wanting to be a writer.”

    Hi.

  2. christine

    This quote makes me think how much more forgiving we all need to be of ourselves and others. In the community where I live, people become outrages when life doesn’t ‘fit’ their image of what it’s supposed to be. It’s like a giant mass narcissism. I agree with Dana, the writing is gorgeous, but Dana has her own writing chops, doesn’t she?

Leave a Reply

