Ouroboros Review, Issue Two: An interview and poems

The second issue of poetry and art journal, ouroboros review, is now online and includes an interview with me and a few poems. 
 
 
Here’s a brief extract from the interview:
   
It’s hard to say how living in South Africa has influenced my writing.  I find it difficult to think of “influences”; so many things combine to create voice and writing style.  If anything, I’d say direct influences have been contemporary Northern hemisphere poets:  American, Canadian and English.  In my early twenties, I fell in love with Sylvia Plath and Anne Sexton’s work, and I adored Erica Jong’s chutzpah.
  
I admire the poetry of Louise Glück, Margaret Atwood, Marge Piercy, Pascale Petit, Vicki Feaver, Mary Oliver, Ted Hughes, T S Eliot, Mark Doty, Eilean Ni Chuilleanain, Derek Walcott, Pablo Neruda, Sharon Olds, Adrienne Rich, William Carlos Williams, Billy Collins and many more.  There are some wonderful South African poets:  Isobel Dixon, Rustum Kozain, Kelwyn Sole, Karen Press, Finuala Dowling, Joan Metelerkamp, Fiona Zerbst and Gabeba Baderoon, among others.

  
 
Issue two also contains Collin Kelley’s interview with Vanessa Daou, poetry by Iain Britton, Allan Peterson, Rebecca Gethin, Robin Reagler, Julie Buffaloe-Yoder, Paul Stevens, Dustin Brookshire, Carolee Sherwood, Deb Scott, Jill Crammond Wickham – and that’s just the beginning.  The eye-catching cover art of the full moon over Atlanta is the work of talented photographer, Meg Pearlstein.
 
Indefatigable editors, Jo Hemmant and Christine Swint, have once again done a sterling job.  The journal is beautifully laid out and produced. 
 
Read it here.

11 thoughts on “Ouroboros Review, Issue Two: An interview and poems

  1. Annie

    Yes, yes I agree. I have put a little mention of it on my blog… I love January Triptych. I really enjoyed reading it again

  2. verylikeawhale

    Can’t open the links! Or rather, I get ‘Internet Explorer cannot display the web page.’ Very disappointing — will try again later.

  3. Michelle Post author

    Hi Nic, apparently the ouroboros review website was hacked.

    I’ve updated the link in my post and you can read the new issue here:

    Enjoy!

  4. verylikeawhale

    Got in! Great interview! Loved January Triptych (#1 especially) and the Bee Man. And Yay for Heidi and Enid Blyton, and congrats on the upcoming publication of your collection!

  5. Michelle Post author

    Thank you, Annie.

    Nic, where would we be without Enid Blyton and Moonface from the Magic Faraway Tree?😉

  6. tammy

    Congratulations on being featured in OUROBOROS REVIEW! I enjoyed reading your interview, and agree with you that “In order to fill up and let go, one needs to have space, a quiet space, and time to dream, to write and revise”. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and insights!

  7. Susan Richardson

    Beautiful journal – and I loved both reading the interview, Michelle, and re-reading ‘January Triptych’. Thank you.

  8. carolee

    michelle, i am just getting caught up on reading. the interview in ouroboros is great. i really enjoyed reading some more about you.

  9. dale

    It always takes me a while to read through a collection. I’m not up to the interview yet. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

