Some thoughts for Monday

 
  
 
“Inspiration does not come like a bolt, nor is it kinetic energy striving, but it comes to us slowly and quietly and all the time.”
  
– Brenda Ueland
  
  
“What poetry does is put more oxygen in the atmosphere. Poetry makes it easier to breathe.”
  
– Kay Ryan
  
  
“When I see a young (or not-so-young) writer counting syllables on her fingers, or marking stresses … I’m pretty sure we’ll have something in common, whatever our differences may be.”
 
– Marilyn Hacker
 
 
“If there were no poetry on any day in the world, poetry would be invented that day. For there would be an intolerable hunger.”
 
– Muriel Rukeyser
 
 
“I don’t create poetry; I create myself, for my poems are a way to me.”
 
– Edith Södergran
 
 
“The poet who goes by what she thinks she should write, paying more attention to fashion than to her own poetic identity, will never write anything that goes beyond that fashion.”

– Fiona Sampson
 
 
“Every day I go downstairs and I open the curtains in my study, which leads onto a garden, and then I go to the kitchen and let the dogs out and make a cup of tea. And every morning feels like a gift.”
 
– Carol Ann Duffy
 
 
“It’s all right to be a little lost when reading poems … It’s not necessary to understand everything. It’s important not to lose a sense of the unknown. Poems don’t always give themselves all at once.”
 
– Tess Gallagher
 
 
“At best, the title is a source of light, illuminating the poem’s successive lines. At best, the sound of the title echoes throughout the whole poem.”
 
– Paulann Petersen
 
 
“I’d rather learn from one bird how to sing than each ten thousand stars not to dance.”
 
– e e cummings

6 thoughts on “Some thoughts for Monday

  1. Julie

    I love all the quotes. I’m particularly fond of what Fiona Sampson says about going beyond fashion. It takes courage to write what we want (or need) to write versus what we think the world wants us to write. In my opinion, that is the duty of a true artist.

    I love Carol Ann Duffy’s quote, too. It is a gift.

Leave a Reply

