Some thoughts for Monday

  
 
“Chew your way into a new world.
Munch leaves. Molt. Rest. Molt
again. Self-reinvention is everything.”
 
– Amy Gerstler, ‘Advice from a Caterpillar’
 
 
 
“I like to hear and smell the countryside, the land my characters inhabit. I don’t want these characters to step off the page, I want them to step out of the landscape.”
 
– Peter Matthiessen
 
 
 
“What crazies we writers are, our heads full of language like buckets of minnows standing in the moonlight on a dock.”
 
– Flannery O’Connor
 
 
 
“There is something about words. In expert hands, manipulated deftly, they take you prisoner. Wind themselves around your limbs like spider silk, and when you are so enthralled you cannot move, they pierce your skin, enter your blood, numb your thoughts. Inside you they work their magic.”
 
– Diane Setterfield, The Thirteenth Tale
 
 
 
“Poetry is my love, my postmark, my hands, my kitchen, my face.”

– Anne Sexton
 
 
 
“Writing is finally a series of permissions you give to yourself to be expressive in certain ways. To leap. To fly. To fail.”
 
– Susan Sontag
 
 
 
“Work with all your intelligence and love. Work freely and rollickingly as though talking to a friend who loves you. Mentally (at least three or four times a day) thumb your nose at the know-it-alls, jeerers, critics, doubters.”
 
– Brenda Ueland
 
 
 
“I learned that when writing you should not feel like Lord Byron on a mountaintop, but like a child stringing beads in kindergarten – happy, absorbed, and quietly putting one bead on after another.”
 
– Brenda Ueland
 
 
 
“Each morning my characters greet me with misty faces willing, though chilled, to muster for another day’s progress through the dazzling quicksand, the marsh of blank paper.”
 
– John Updike
 
 
 
“We put on our stories before our clothes …”
 
– William Wenthe
 
 
 

3 thoughts on “Some thoughts for Monday

  1. Deb

    Fabulous! Thank you for the Monday love. (I adore the Amy Gerstler, ‘Advice from a Caterpillar’ one so much, having recently read that marvelous book. And lovely image to boot!)

  2. Marion

    I’ve been thinking on that Ueland quote all day, it’s a wonderful image of writing. Love the Anne Sexton quote.

Leave a Reply

