Aine MacAodha: Two Poems

Aine MacAodha

  
Aine MacAodha is a writer and amateur photographer from Omagh, situated in County Tyrone, North of Ireland. Her essays, poems and photographic work have appeared in issues of Luciole Press and Pirene’s Fountain. Her poetry has been published in online magazines including Argotist Online, Arabesque Review, Shamrock Haiku Journal, The Herald, Celtic Myth Podshow, Debris Magazine and recently in The Toronto Quarterly and Glasgow Review. She is currently working on a second collection of poetry. She has three grown up children and a recent addition, her grandson Caleb. She is a member of Saatchi Online, Fotolibra and Redbubble. Read more about Aine and her collection, Where the Three Rivers Meet, at her website and blog.
 
 
 
All for love
 
You said you never cared for walking over boggy hills
over rusty styles with bulls on the other side
only to find a crumbling stone etched in lines;
you do it out of love.
Watching in bewilderment as I spy a lone ogham stone
in the centre of a field in Mountfield in the middle
of nowhere and my spirit lifts at the sight of it.
My mind gets to work on the stories this stone carries in its aura.
My camera clicks many times.
You do this out of love you say, like I do
when the wilderness calls and I succumb to its voice.
  

Ogham stone by Aine MacAodha

  
 
Guth An Anam (Voice of the soul)
 
I carried you or we carried each other
over ancient sites and thorny bushes
to recall your forgotten voice
lost through the layers of time.
 
I carried you to Yeats County with views
of soothing Benbulben Mountain and you
sang such beautiful tunes.
 
You sang out too when I located the
weather-worn court tomb at Creevykeel.
An ancient connection was made.
 
When birds left the trees for sunnier climes
as winter caped above the house
you were with me.
 
You gave me music to open my soul
again to the beauty in the landscape.
Music, you are the voice of my soul.

Benbulben Mountain by Aine MacAodha

  
Visit Aine’s blog.
 
Visit Aine’s website.

One thought on “Aine MacAodha: Two Poems

  1. adrian fox

    read the last poem on my website north west passage same idea as yours my road trip soul trip should have called to see you maybe i will again go for coffee. the poetry properite looks well doesnt it. is something like that hard to do because im starting a poetry cafe session here would you come down and read for me.

Leave a Reply

