Fiona Donaghey’s ‘The performance’

 
 
 
Fiona Donaghey is a student at Cith College, Norwich, studying for a BA in English with Cultural Studies. She is a member of a poetry group hosted by Helen Ivory.
 
 
 
The performance
 
I walk in toe shoes
tapping gently on stage floors
pink ribbons like hands around my ankles
 
it is hard to breathe
tip-tapping and hollow
like a tin girl
 
the ballet begins
I am a sylphide
pale, beautiful, heartless
 
I turn myself, I turn
and know I am in love
with the prince, a stranger backstage
 
 
 
Read Fiona’s poems ‘China Rabbits’ and ‘Moth Balls and Silverfish’ here.
   
Read Fiona’s poems ‘Stolen Things’ and ‘The Red Suitcase’ at
Ink Sweat & Tears.
   
Read Fiona’s poem ‘The Painter’ at Ink Sweat & Tears.
 
 
  

Leave a Reply

